My VS Code Setup

My VS Code Setup

ยท

0 min read

There are a lot of Code Editors, some are free and some are paid. Among all of them my favorite Code Editor is Visual Studio Code. It's free and has amazing features. I'm using it from the beginning of my web development journey.

Today I'm going to share my favorite Code Editor settings, using for my web development. And I'm going to start with my Code Editor looks. After all look matters.

๐ŸŽจ Theme:

My most used VS Code theme is Snazzy Operator, currently I'm using this.

VS Code Theme - Snazzy Operator

This theme is based on hyper-snazzy and optimized for used with the Operator Mono font. I just love๐Ÿ˜ this theme.

โญ Some other themes I used before:

โœ’ Font:

Another important things for my Code Editor looks. The font I'm using for my Code Editor is JetBrains Mono. It's a free font with ligatures support.

JetBrains Mono Font

The font ligatures are a new format for fonts that support symbol decorations instead of normal characters like =>, <=.

JetBrains Mono Font

Before JetBrains Mono, I used Operator Mono. It's also a nice font.

โญ Some other fonts I used before:

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ Do you want to use my settings, I use for my VS Code fonts? In your VS Code press Ctrl + p, type settings.json and open that file. Now replace below properties values with my given values.

{
  "workbench.colorTheme": "Snazzy Operator",
  "editor.fontFamily": "'JetBrains Mono', Consolas, 'Courier New', monospace",
  "editor.fontLigatures": true,
  "editor.fontSize": 14,
  "editor.lineHeight": 22,
  "editor.letterSpacing": 0.5,
  "editor.fontWeight": "400",
  "editor.cursorStyle": "line",
  "editor.cursorWidth": 5,
  "editor.cursorBlinking": "solid"
}

๐Ÿ“ Icons:

File Icons enhance our VS Code Editor looks. Mainly it helps us to differentiate between different files & folders by their given icons. For my VS Code I use two file icons :-

  1. Material Icon Theme - One of the most popular icon theme for VS Code.
  2. Material Theme Icons - Currently using this. And I'm using Material Theme Icons Light variant.

Material Icon Theme

๐Ÿ›  Extensions I Use:

๐Ÿ”น Auto Rename Tag

Automatically rename paired HTML/XML tag, also works in JSX.

Auto Rename Tag

๐Ÿ”น Bracket Pair Colorizer 2

This extension allows matching brackets to be identified with colours. The user can define which tokens to match, and which colours to use.

Bracket Pair Colorizer 2

๐Ÿ”น Color Highlight

This extension styles css/web colors, found in your document.

Color Highlight

๐Ÿ”น CSS Peek

  • Peek: Load the css file inline and make quick edits right there. (Ctrl+Shift+F12)
  • Go To: Jump directly to the css file or open it in a new editor (F12)
  • Hover: Show the definition in a hover over the symbol (Ctrl+hover)

CSS Peek

๐Ÿ”น DotENV

Highlight key, value pairs in .env file.

DotENV

๐Ÿ”น ES7 React/Redux/GraphQL/React-Native snippets

This extension provides you JavaScript and React/Redux snippets in ES7 with Babel plugin features for VS Code.

๐Ÿ”น ESLint

'Linting' tool for VS Code - or Code checking tool.

"Lint, or a Linter, is a tool that analyzes source code to flag programming errors, bugs, stylistic errors, and suspicious constructs."

๐Ÿ”น Highlight Matching Tag

Highlight matching opening or closing tags.

Highlight Matching Tag

Styles I use for this extension:

"highlight-matching-tag.styles": {
        "opening": {
            "left": {
                "custom": {
                    "borderWidth": "0 0 0 1.5px",
                    "borderStyle": "solid",
                    "borderColor": "yellow",
                    "borderRadius": "5px",
                    "overviewRulerColor": "white"
                }
            },
            "right": {
                "custom": {
                    "borderWidth": "0 1.5px 0 0",
                    "borderStyle": "solid",
                    "borderColor": "yellow",
                    "borderRadius": "5px",
                    "overviewRulerColor": "white"
                }
            }
        }
    }

๐Ÿ”น Image preview

Shows image preview in the gutter and on hover.

Image preview

๐Ÿ”น Indent Rainbow

This extension colorizes the indentation in front of your text alternating four different colors on each step.

Indent Rainbow

๐Ÿ”น Live Server

Launch a local development server with live reload feature for static & dynamic pages.

๐Ÿ”น Prettier

Prettier is an opinionated code formatter. It enforces a consistent style by parsing your code and re-printing it with its own rules that take the maximum line length into account, wrapping code when necessary.

Set below property value to be true or add this property into your settings.json file to format code on save.

  "editor.formatOnSave": true

๐Ÿ”น Pug beautify

Pug beautify plugin for VS Code. Press F1 and run the command named Beautify pug/jade to beautify your pug file.

๐Ÿ”น REST Client

REST Client allows you to send HTTP request and view the response in Visual Studio Code directly.

REST Client

๐Ÿ”น Settings Sync

Synchronize Settings, Snippets, Themes, File Icons, Launch, Keybindings, Workspaces and Extensions Across Multiple Machines Using GitHub Gist.

๐Ÿ”น TODO Highlight

Highlight TODO, FIXME and other annotations within your code.

๐Ÿ”น Version Lens

Shows the latest version for each package in your package.json file.

๐Ÿ“ƒ Terminal Setup:

I use Windows Operating System. Since I use Git via the command line, I have Git Terminal. And I use this terminal as my integrated terminal. My terminal settings are given below:

  "terminal.integrated.shell.windows": "C:\\Program Files\\Git\\bin\\bash.exe",
  "terminal.integrated.fontFamily": "FuraMono Nerd Font",
  "terminal.integrated.fontSize": 12,
  "terminal.integrated.rightClickCopyPaste": true

โœ” Useful VS Code Keyboard Shortcuts:

There are some important keyboard shortcuts, I use in my day to day coding life. These shortcuts enhance my productivity with Visual Studio Code.

KeybindingAction
Ctrl + PGo to File, You can move to any file of open solution/folder in Visual Studio code
Ctrl + `Open terminal in VS Code
Alt + DownMove Line Down
Alt + UpMove Line Up
Ctrl + DMove Last Selection To Next Find Match
Ctrl + SpaceTrigger Suggest
Ctrl + FFind
Ctrl + /Toggle Line Comment
Ctrl + CCopy line
Ctrl + XCut line
Ctrl + VPaste
Ctrl + ZUndo
Ctrl + YRedo
Shift + Alt + DownCopy Line Down
Shift + Alt + UpCopy Line Up
Ctrl + Shift + TReopen the latest closed window

Thanks for reading and stay tuned.๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ‘‹